UNIVERSITY 18 REVIEW

Whats it all about

If any of you have receiced an SMS saying that read “Kickstart
your Career with the University 18 Online EMBA and MS in IT Programs for
professionals in India,UK and /uae “

Call it EMBA, or Education 2.0.that is the hybrid of web
2.0 technology and education. Its the next generation of online education. University
18 has changed the traditional college course into an academic experience that
you can attend to  from your bedroom. Many
of you may think that this not very well accepted in the real world but an
online mba can be fun ,convenient and as knowledgeable as any “real world” mba
diploma/degree.

University 18 has students from 5 continents  and uses new age cloud computing

to create virtual
classrooms under the “Learning Management System” that is affiliated and
accredited to the Karnataka State University,Uttarakhand Open University and
Don Bosco University.

 

Programs and  Pricing

 

Karnataka State Open University

BBA 54,000 3 years
BCA 48,000 3 years
EXecutive MBA 38,000 1 year
MBA IT 48,000 2 years
MBA Entrepreneurship 48,000 2 years
MBA with  specialisation 48,000 2 years
MS IT 56,000 2 years

 

Don Bosco University

BBA 60,000 3 years
BCA 60,000 3 years
Executive MBA 85,000 1 year
MBA with Specialisation 60,000 2 years
MBA ENtrepreneurship 60,000 2 years
MBA Technology Management 60,000 2 years
MS IT 85,000 2 years
MCA 65,000 3 years

 

How the Online Process works

Its not harder than watching tv and flicking channels
with the remote. “Virtual Classes” are conducted twice a week early in the
morning, so that makes it easier for working professionals  to attend before they leave for

work.A
Faculty member will conduct each session via webcam and microphone via voice
chat.The program required to run this interface is called UBS virtual classroom
and a picture is shown below.The software of course provided by UBS.

university 18 review

 

 

On the right are the names of student who are attending
the classroom at any given time. If for any reason you cant attend a particular
class, you can always record it and watch it later. This online class is just
another version of the classic “webinar” that’s been in existence on the net for
many years now.

 

As far as Online Examinations are concerned, those
unfortunately cannot be given from your bedroom, but at an exam center under
the invigilance of a “real” staff member.A CBT (computer based test) will have
to be taken at the exam venue. University 18 has an online form called the
Flexibooking system whereby the candidate can choose his exam center venue, date
and time.You can pre book the exam and the booking will hold for a maximum of
60 days.Below is a snapshot of the flexibooking system. Online exam for
international students is done via the OWPE or online web proctored exam on
their own laptop/desktop .

university 18 review

 

BOTTOMLINE, IS IT WORTH IT?

An EMBA from University 18 is extremely worthwhile for
people who already have a small business running, people who run family businesses
and don’t have the time to leave their business and apply for even a part time
MBA in other colleges. Working professionals have that liberty of taking up a
part time MBA course but businessman find it harder, so this might suit them.
Also,an EMBA is more self learning and direct management implementation,
therefore small business owners can apply these management fundamentals to help
boost their business and don’t really need a degree of great value to show
someplace, a long as they can learn good management skills its more than
sufficient.

Executive mangers in their 30s and 40s who are at senior
levels in companies also find it extremely difficult to opt for even a part
time MBA in the real world, hence an Executive EMBA from University 18 would greatly
polish up their managerial skills,as it is also specially designed short term
course of only 1 year for high level executives with extremely busy schedules.

 

People who are already working at  a job and want to climb higher the career
ladder with the help of an MBA degree might not get the necessary weightage
with an EMBA.Even though the curriculum is exactly the same as that what you
would get at a conventional B School,when going out to get a job,it just wont
be as attractive as real world classroom MBA degree. EMBA and online learning
are still new concepts, as they ultimately give you a degree from an affiliate
open university, and for you to convince a new
employers and the HRD to hire you might be a hard task.

On the other hand, given the low costs and
convenience.(it costs one tenth the tuition of a regular MBA degree) and the
comfort of your home, it seems like a fantastic idea.

Other students who have enrolled can share thier thoughts with this

University 18 review post.

 

 

, ,

31 Responses to UNIVERSITY 18 REVIEW

  1. Ekene January 30, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

    Pls am confused,i applied but they called me to send my DOc.So much fraud today,pls advise me.


    • Someone February 6, 2014 at 11:42 am #

      My Advice they are so eager to take ur money something is fishee about this University but my Advice dont Join


  2. sateesh mandre November 29, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    I have done my MSIT here.

    1. Course Material is excellent. I received materials on time.
    2. Teaching though online it is good. I attended few. Students can read on their own if they are already BE graduates.
    3. Support is excellent. I surprise how few readers here did get support
    4. Examinations are online and can be taken from home under remote surveillance. I found it is comfortable as I on Job and can adjust timings
    5. Overall it is good as per my experience.

    One thing the university can improve is to have a website where all students can see their co learners so that they can help themselves and share information.

    I thank University18 and wish them the best


  3. Anil September 10, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    somebody please tell me is EMBA online course from DBU helpfull or not


  4. Chanti February 14, 2013 at 5:21 am #

    Dear Friends,

    Pls confirm , Whether Executive MBA at University -18 is recognised by our Indian companies.

    Can I go ahead for EMBA.


  5. Rohit Ramachandran November 15, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    The service is till money has reached them. Classes happen on and off and many hidden charges are there also, no one to help if you have any problem, which is true. No value of degree also. I joined smu after spending 1 year and lot money on this university.


  6. RAJARSHI PAHARI September 3, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    somebody please tell me is BBA online course from DBU helpfull or not


  7. supriya July 19, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Hi all can you please confirm if this online examination works or not? do we need much high capacity internet facility? i stay in district place so asking if any inconvenience happens in exam. is its online exam is valid or approved by ugc aicte?


    • jojo22 July 19, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

      @supriya,,before joining an online course,,make sure you have spoken to atleast 2-3 people that have already done that particular online course and take thier opinion, only after that make your decision


  8. Manish Lalwani March 4, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    Dear All,
    I am a senior manager in a MNC and not possible for me to take full/part time course. It is necessary to do mba to reach at the top level of management. So i have joined this course which is really wonderful. There are webinars with quality lecturers,also you can appear in the exam from your bedroom, your system is controlled by the university so that nobody can cheat in the exam. really wonderful experience and this is next level of distance education in India. Cheers! I will highly recommend this university.
    Regards,
    Manish


  9. Pyarelal January 28, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    I am doing my MBA-IT from University18. Extremely helpful and useful. Would recommend to all. Learning curve, quality of professor and their recommendations for study matrerial phenomenal.

    I am based out of IT city and foun dthis very useful.

    regards,
    Pyarelal

    humdil(about)gmail(dot)com


    • jojo22 January 28, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      @pyarelal thanks for your feedback


  10. Raghu January 24, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    Hi All..
    Im planning to take up MS couse, can any1 pls tel how is it..?? Is it good n safe to register..?? Pls reply asap..

    Thanks
    R


    • Bimal May 30, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

      Raghu,

      I enrolled in MS(IT) course, just cleared assessment tests(internal exams) for my 1st semester. Only after getting 40% in those tests, you’re eligible to appear for final exams, which is going to happen in another 1-2 months. So far my experience is very good and feels like you have to be serious after you enroll to the course. I feel like studying through a good UGC and AICTE recognized university.

      – Bimal


      • Shikha July 9, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

        Hi Bimal

        Just wanted to know if your are still pursuing the course? How has been your experience with the course, faculty, online modules so far. Your reply would be apppreciated.

        Regards

        Shikha


  11. Satheesh December 16, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    I have joined the course.

    Earlier I was doing my MBA at IGNOU.

    But I discontinued because of lot of problems.

    Here everything is easy and smooth.

    One more important thing is that the course delivery is really very good. I feel as if I’m attending a real university. It is 1000 times better than IGNOU. you have to pay little bit more.


    • Nikky December 29, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

      Even I am considering doing MS from this university. But I am looking for anyone who has finished studying to clear up some doubts.


    • Raghu January 24, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      Hi,
      im planning to take MS, could u pls tel me is good n safe..?? How is the coaching n all..??

      Thanks
      R


      • jojo22 January 25, 2012 at 10:34 am #

        is there any particular reason you are opting for an Emba?its still a new system,so inquire around if its recognised by employers while getting a job,becuase if it doesnt have much value compared to traditional degree,you might be wasting your time and money for 1 year


        • Kevi Naleo Mor July 20, 2012 at 9:33 am #

          If you already have a job in hand it makes sense to do this but If you take this MBA as a means to get a job then forget it it will not get you anywhere whether IGNOU or University 18 or whatever.


          • jojo22 July 20, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

            @kevi ,ive heard that before about online degrees


  12. Jayant December 11, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Pryanajali, I have checked it myself with the University and demo of the program and it is a very good course according to me.
    regards.

    p.s. I am joining


    • Shikha July 9, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      Hi Jayant

      Just wanted to know if your are still pursuing the course? How has been your experience with the course, faculty, online modules so far? Your reply would be apppreciated.

      Regards

      Shikha


      • anonymous September 25, 2013 at 9:36 am #

        Please do not join this fake and fraud institute as they are only after your money and especially a lady named Kandra, beware of her and all the ladies of the company as they are totally fraud and selfish people.


        • Sunny October 20, 2013 at 2:04 am #

          You are probably right about the fact here is what happened to me

          I just enrolled to BCA Smester 1. So here is the short story of there online system
          1. Uncomplete recorded lectures
          2. Un sorted lectures
          3. No E-books no notes are provided
          4. Assesmenst with no guidelines on how many topics they cover.

          In short you goto lectures only 7 lectures for programming in c for 6 months and only 1st lecture is working.

          5. Support to student is realy bad no response even after 5 days. Yeah before i enrolled they even used to call me 2 times a day. But once i have paid and i am finally enrolled now they are not fullfulling any of there promises.
          Its realy a shame. I have no way to connect to other students/ Mates. The discussion and hangouts and locators are just uncomplete and so the whole system of E learning. I cannot recommend anyone to go and ruin there money


        • Sashi October 29, 2013 at 11:31 am #

          I am an enrolled student and I think the support is really good.


        • saima January 6, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

          Yes, I was planning to join for mba but later i came to know that certificate are not provided for taken course. support team always promised to issue as soon as possible bt its not workout.


          • Guest June 2, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

            Sima How long it takes to get certificate ? who inform you about this


  13. prayanjali October 17, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    is this scam website?or real.i have heard its nto good please tell me


    • N Rajmudi April 16, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      They give you service till the money is reached them. After that forget everything about student. Very disappointed.


      • jojo22 April 18, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

        sorry to hear that


Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes